On behalf of Briston Parish Council I would like to express our profound sadness at the passing of our Monarch, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, and extend to all of her family our deepest sympathy, thoughts and prayers.

Her Majesty had been our Head of State for most if not all of our lives and we join the whole country, and indeed the world, in reflecting upon and giving thanks for a remarkable life and reign. Her dedication to duty, service for others and vibrant faith in Christ will long remain an example to us all. As a village, our own celebrations for the Platinum Jubilee earlier this year were testimony to the unique way in which the Queen both united and represented us.

As we continue in this period of national mourning, a Book of Condolence will be opened at All Saints Church from Saturday 10th September, in which parishioners may write their own tributes and expressions of grief.

Thank God for a good Queen! Long live and God save the King!

Matthew Pickhaver (Chairman, Briston Parish Council)

Welcome to the Briston Parish Council website

The Parish Council is the first of three tiers of local governance in the village and generally the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. It is made up of 12 elected Councillors who live within the parish and meet monthly. These meetings are open to the public.

Briston Parish Council

Briston Parish Council is responsible for the allotments, church yard, bus shelters, car park, crime reduction measures, events and festivals, footpaths and bridleways, leisure and sports facilities, litter bins, public toilets, planning applications (commenting only), street lighting, traffic calming measures and village green. Briston Parish Council is the Trustee of the Higginbottom Recreational Charity. This charity owns and manages the Recreation Ground and all the buildings and facilities on it.

North Norfolk District Council

North Norfolk District Council is responsible for housing, leisure and recreation, environmental health, waste collection, planning applications and local taxation collections. Briston’s District Councillor is Jolanda Stenton.

Norfolk County Council

Norfolk County Council is responsible for education, footpath/bridleway access/signage, highways, transport planning, passenger transport, social care, libraries, waste disposal and strategic planning. Briston’s County Councillor is Steffan Aquarone.

Member of Parliament

The MP for North Norfolk is Duncan Baker.


Website Accessibility Statement